Honorary Professor in the School of Nursing at UWC

First Non-North American President to Lead the Honor Society of Nursing Internationally

Delivery call to action

Prof Hester C. Klopper, was installed last week as the first non-North American president of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) at the society’s 42nd Biennial Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.

She has extensive networks in global health, public health, policy development, nursing, and health care. She is the chief executive officer of the Forum for University Nursing Deans in South Africa (FUNDISA), holds a professor appointment at the School of Nursing, Faculty of Community and Health Sciences at the University of the Western Cape, Cape Town and at INSINQ research focus area in Faculty of Health Sciences at North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus.

STTI boasts a robust global network of 135 000 active members based at 492 chapters throughout 90 countries; now, international leadership will provide a new perspective for the 90-year-old organization. She is viewed as an inspirational leader whose global vision will prove valuable now and in the future.”

The role of nurses in influencing government policy and enhancing health systems worldwide are focal points for Prof Klopper. At her direction, STTI has taken the lead in creating the Global Advisory Panel on the Future of Nursing (GAPFON), which will meet for the first time in Switzerland in March 2014. Also central to her work is the leadership and capacity development of young scientists. In South Africa, Klopper coordinates the PLUME program, funded by the National Research Foundation (NRF), to support the development of post-doctoral candidates’ research.

In her presidential call to action, ‘Serve Locally, Transform Regionally, Lead Globally’, Klopper detailed the four themes of her biennium of service: servant leadership, connectedness, transformation, and gratitude.

STTI’s 492 chapters are located at 672 institutions of higher education throughout Armenia, Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, England, Ghana, Hong Kong, Japan, Kenya, Malawi, Mexico, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, the United States, and Wales. STTI holds Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) special consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations.

The School of Nursing is proud to share this information with you.

Leave a Reply